Having a list and checking it twice

It’s been almost two weeks since the last blog. Way too long.  I’ve been occupied with happily crossing off items on my list! I told you I would, and now it’s time to REPORT.

I’ve completed most everything on my TO DO list, with few modifications. I’ve run into a bit of a snag due to seasonal allergies flaring up-stinky pollen!

For the most part I feel content with everything I’ve been able to do and experience. The chickadees have had an enormous amount of fun with only minor homesickness here and there. We’ve even got E considering a move to be closer to all the family we’ve been getting to know.  That’s quite an accomplishment!

DSCN3000
E & G-Happy cousins

We were lucky to attend our niece’s wedding events. She was beautiful and glowed with happiness. Here’s a picture. You’ll see what I mean.

Wedding Day

The chickadees went to Bear Lake for girls camp and are prepping to go to their second girls camp on the 15th of this month, July. Two of their cousins will be joining them. They are getting excited.

I only have a week left here. Seems like it’s gone by quickly. My sister is coming tonight. Woot! Woot! For a few days my siblings and I will be in the same state.  Should be fun. Hasn’t happened since…I don’t know the last time that’s happened actually.  I’ll have to get back to you on that one.

Now-onto books. I have finished one and started two more. This first one was  by Mary Higgins Clark

I’ve read a fair few of her books. They are usually quick reads and involve some type of murder or other serious crime. I liked this one except the dialogue of the 3 year old twins seemed a little advanced. Other then that it was a good read.

The other two books are very different from each other. One is about a doctor-nuerosurgeon, Ben Carson.

Product Details

It’s very interesting-inspiring actually.  I’m about 3/4 way through. I’d recommend it. It’s got me thinking about what to do with the rest of my life. Check it out.

The second book is by Harlan Coben

Product Details

I haven’t read any of his books before. I’m really liking this one. It’s about the consequences of one event and how it can change your course in life. I’m about 1/2 way through it and my mind is rattling with possible outcomes for the main character, Matt Hunter. I’m excited to see what happens next.

Mr. Coben has an interesting style of writing. His characters think out loud in order to get backstory. I’m not sure if this is how all his books are, but it’s effective. Every chapter seems to switch to a different character’s part of the story. It keeps you wanting more and frustrated when you have to pull yourself away to deal with your real life.  It’s definitely worth checking out. I’ll let you know how I feel when I finish The Innocent and Gifted Hands. I’ve got a good feeling about both of them.

 

Leave a Reply

